Coburg Glass Prize

Competition 2014

The Kunstsammlungen of the Veste Coburg are organizing after 1977, 1985 and 2006 for the fourth time the Coburg Prize for Contemporary Glass – a European competition for modern glass. It is the most important event in the glass sector and shows contemporary works by artists who work with glass.

At the Veste Coburg and the European Museum of Modern Glass in nearby Rödental are shown 170 works of art by 150 international artists from 26 nations. With mobility taken for granted, national borders and specifics are disappearing. Europe has become the home for many artists from the US and Asia.

Alongside painstakingly designed objects created with the utmost precision, many works with a more conceptual approach are also on display. The striking thing about them is the use of different materials and media. For example, wood, metal, iron, photography and video stand on an equal par with glass. In the past few years, glass has been used in a wide variety of ways and now commands a firm place in modern art.

The international panel of judges consisting of Sven Hauschke, Veste Coburg Art Collections, Milan Hlaveš, Museum of Decorative Arts, Prague, Susanne Jøker-Johnsen, Bornholm, Peter Layton, London, Jutta-Annette Page, Toledo Museum of Art, Toledo/Ohio, Anne Vanlatum, Musée-Atelier départemental du Verre, Sars-Poteries and as a non-voting member Klaus Weschenfelder, Veste Coburg Art Collections, has selected from the participating artists eleven prize winners. There will also be a Visitors Award.

Prize winners

1st Prize (€ 15.000)
sponsored by Michael Stoschek

Karen Lise Krabbe, Denmark

2nd Prize (€ 10.000)

Jeff Zimmer, USA,
lives in Great Britain

3rd Prize (€ 5.000)

Sylvie Vandenhoucke, Belgium

Alexander Tutsek-Award for Senior Artists,
45 years and older (€ 4.000)

Colin Reid, Great Britain

Award of the Alexander Tutsek-Stiftung
(€ 2.000)

Shige Fujishiro, Japan,
lives in Germany

Otto Waldrich-Award for young artists,
up to 35 years (€ 2.000)

Anna Mlasowsky, Germany,
lives in the USA

Dan Klein Memorial Award (€ 2.000)

Jeehae Kim, South Korea,
lives in France

Special Jury Award (€ 500)

Maria Bang Espersen, Denmark
László Lukácsi, Hungary
Alena Matějka, Czech Republic
René Roubíček, Czech Republic

Visitors Award (€ 2.000)
László Lukácsi, Hungary

Under the patronage of Mrs. Androulla Vassiliou, member of the European Commission

Organized by Veste Coburg Art Collections in combination with Alexander-Tutsek-Stiftung

© Europäisches Museum für Modernes Glas